Image

I’ve felt beauty in a new bundle of joy the first time I held my niece. I’ve felt beauty in the pause between saying the words, “I love you.” I’ve felt the simple beauty of a friend taking my hand in hers when I need it.

I’ve seen beauty in the joyous laughter that can be shared between family members recalling various events. I’ve seen beauty in the simplicity of a sweaty walk with friends. I’ve seen beauty in people truly listening to one another while maintaining eye contact.

I’ve read Zadie Smith’s On Beauty. I believe Miranda July’s words, “When you see the beauty of a tree, then you will know what love is.”

I’ve felt the beauty of living in two very different cultures. I’ve felt beautiful with my form against another; being together. I’ve felt beauty in being active, vulnerable and open.

 

