This song was used on the soundtrack to terrific film, Michel Gondry’s Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004). I remember how excited I was to see that film in my last year of high school. It really spoke to my inner-melancholy teen.

After being in a long-term relationship and meeting several characters along the way…i.e. YEARS LATER and just the other day I found myself saying, “I wish I’d never met ___.” That’s me, wanting to tempt fate and memory by saying such things.

At any rate, this song and the persona of Beck have popped up randomly around me for the last couple of weeks. I could have chosen “Devil’s Haircut” to write about–I have very vivid memories of dancing around to that song in 1997. Or any other Beck tune.

But I chose “Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometimes,” because sometimes my verbalized admittances continue to make me incredulous with their little breaths of truths that I set into the universe. Those utterances are just more proof that getting out of my head-space is a positive for me. Although more often than not, it’s better to write those truths down or jog it out of my head.

